The Kut ‘Animo’

Rock solo artist The Kut (PhD) has announced a US distribution deal with Amplified (Alliance / AMPED / MNRK), for her hotly anticipated second album and released a brand new video single ANIMO.

Meaning ‘courage’ or ‘spirit’, ANIMO and the accompanying music video are released 15th November and funded by Arts Council England. Dubbed by NYC Takeover as ‘the revolution waiting to erupt’ the latest Kut single is fierce; pepper sprayed with haunting melodies, driving beats and unapologetically packed with grrrl power.

Written in support of recent women’s rights demonstrations in the UK, the single is the first of a series of releases, leading up to The Kut second album, due June 2022. The forthcoming album features all seven members of her collective of women in music, with the ANIMO single featuring Diana Bartmann (drums), Jennifer Sanin (bass/vocals) and Alison Wood (guitar/bass) performing alongside The Kut.

The Kut’s debut album ‘Valley of Thorns’ was produced by James LeRock Loughrey (Skindred, White Zombie, Bjork) and spent two weeks in the UK Rock Albums Chart (No.7) and No. 18 in the Independent Albums Chart. The album was distributed via Cargo Records, who stay on as UK & Europe distributor.

Her latest single hit the UK Sales Chart on Christmas Day (No.65) and spent four weeks in the Physical Chart (No.10).  These releases have spawned significant interest in the UK and USA, including support from Kerrang!, BBC Introducing, Total Rock, Hard Rock Hell, Planet Rock, Metal Hammer, Sirius XM, AAA, College stations, with videos selected for playlist by MTV USA, MTV-U, LATV, AXSTV & Music Choice.

With tours in eight countries and performances at Download, Rebellion, Camden Rocks and BBC Introducing Stages, The Kut returned to live post-lockdown, headlining the River Stage at Isle of Wight Festival. The event was followed by the announcement of a long awaited forthcoming single, ‘ANIMO’. 

The US deal, which also signed The Kut’s Criminal Records label, moves their US base to a 700,000 sq ft. US warehouse, backed by Alliance and in partnership with AMPED and MNRK. The deal brings her and label into an impressive US roster including Kobalt, Death Row, Pias, Epitaph, Chrysalis, Nuclear Blast, Papa Roach, Arlo Parks, Dr. Dre, Snoop Dogg, Larkin Poe, Blink 182, Frank Turner and Die Antwoord.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s